Digitalization and Development – IFC 2nd Annual Research Conference

Digitalization and Development – IFC 2nd Annual Research Conference

IFC’s 2nd Annual Research Conference titled “Digitalization and Development,” will focus on the growth of the digital economy and opportunities for private sector development in emerging markets and lower-middle-income economies.

Hosted by Sciences Po, the two-day conference will take place on January 22-23 in Paris, bringing together perspectives of leading academics, policymakers, and practitioners from a wide range of institutions including the World Bank, EBRD, IMF, Unesco, as well as the MIT, Dartmouth College, Columbia, Cambridge, Toulouse and Collège de France.

The conference will showcase cutting-edge research and will feature engaging panel discussions on topics such as:

  • The development impact of digitalization
  • The adoption and use of digital technologies by firms
  • Digital infrastructure
  • The twin transitions: Digitalization and climate implications for the private sector
  • Digital finance and entrepreneurship in developing economies
  • The opportunities for digital entrepreneurship

See the lineup of speakers and the full of agenda for the conference below:

You can register to attend both virtually or in-person. Please register here

Conference information.


  • Sciences Po, Economics Department
  • Oxford Martin Programme on the Future of Development
  • European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
  • Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne


  1.  Cevat Giray Aksoy (EBRD)
  2. Johannes Boehm (Sciences Po)
  3. Lorenzo Cassi (Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne)
  4. Lisa Chauvet (Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne)
  5. Marcio Cruz (IFC)
  6. Ralph de Haas (EBRD)
  7. Olena Havrylchyk (Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne)
  8. Lobna Kassim (University of Oxford)
  9. Mathilde Maurel (Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne)
  10. Christian Meyer (University of Oxford)
  11. Mariana Pereira Lopez (IFC)
  12. Francesca de Nicola (IFC)
  13. Alexandros Ragoussis (IFC)
  14. Golvine de Rochambeau (Sciences Po)
  15. Verena Wiedemann (IFC)



Subscribe to receive news and so on.